Fair
38°FFairFull Forecast

About Us

Newton Daily News
PO Box 967
200 First Ave. E.
Newton, IA 50208
(641) 792-3121
Fax (641) 791-7104
newsroom@newtondailynews.com

Office hours:
Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Circulation 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

 

About the Newton Daily News
The Newton Daily News is a daily newspaper (Monday through Friday) which serves Jasper County and the surrounding regions of central Iowa. The Newton Daily News was established in 1902 and is part of Shaw Media, Dixon IL

Founded: 1902

Circulation:

Newton Daily News: 5-day, daily; M-F, evening (4,200)
Jasper County Advertiser: W (15,300)
Sunrise Edition: M-F, a.m. (425)

Philosophy:
To become and remain the vehicle that provides news and advertising in a timely, customer-friendly relevant manner to the readers and advertisers of Jasper County as well as to provide excellent quality commercial printing to central Iowa.

Special Features:
Extensive, local area sports coverage; in-depth coverage of all local events; numerous special interest sections.

Awards:
The Newton Daily News has been regularly honored by both the Iowa Newspaper Association as well as the Midwest Free Community Papers Group for breaking news, local coverage of news and sports, color, photography, advertising, and innovative sections. The paper was named the “General Excellence” winner in 2007 for daily newspapers by the Iowa Newspaper Association.

THE COMMUNITY


Location:
Newton is a central Iowa community on I-80, US Hwy 6 and IA Hwy 14, 26 miles east of I-35. Newton, the county seat of Jasper County, is located 31 miles from Des Moines, the state capital.

Market:
Newton and the surrounding communities in Jasper County.

Things To Do:
Area attractions include the new Iowa Speedway, Jasper County Historical Museum, an 18-hole municipal golf course, a public swimming pool, the Annual Iowa Sculpture Festival, a newly-renovated Arts and Artists Centre, and 12 city parks. Newton is also within a half hour of many major attractions including Pella Tulip Time, a wildlife preserve, sprint car racing, casinos, horse races, amusement parks, Iowa Cubs baseball games, three local wineries and Iowa's largest man made lake situated on 19,000 acres.

Population:
15,196 in Newton; 36,815 in Jasper County

Median Home Price:

$109,000

Publisher - Dan Goetz .................... dgoetz@newtondailynews.com
Editor - Abigail Pelzer .................... apelzer@newtondailynews.com
Associate Editor - Mandi Lamb .................... mlamb@newtondailynews.com
Advertising & Marketing Manager - Jeff Holschuh .................... jholschuh@newtondailynews.com
Production/Circulation Director - Kelly Vest .................... kvest@newtondailynews.com
Business Manager - Brenda Lamb .................... bjlamb@newtondailynews.com
Composing Supervisor - MariJo DeGrado .................... mdegrado@newtondailynews.com
Job Printing Supervisor - Chris Basinger   ....................  cbasinger@newtondailynews.com
 
 

National video

Reader Poll

If the election were held tomorrow, are you ready to vote?
Yes
No
Unsure